Sticking to the Season: Farmer’s Market Madness!

Happy Dairy Cows at Deer Hollow Farm

Happy Dairy Cows at Deer Hollow Farm

Hey Lauren, I know it’s a little weird because what’s in season for me over in California has not yet reached the Mid-west. I’ve been going to farmers markets here, and I’m still blown away by the variety of fresh local produce that is already here! To give you an idea:

  • Strawberries
  • Asparagus
  • Rhubarb
  • Artichokes
  • Fava beans
  • Tomatoes
  • Spring peas
  • Green garlic
  • Spring onions
  • Oranges
  • Fennel
  • Kohlrabi
  • Nettles
  • Lettuce, mustard greens, arugula & spinach
  • Radishes
  • Herbs: basil, chamomile, mint, lavender, rose geranium, thyme
  • And much more….
My finds at the April farmers market in San Jose

My finds at the April farmers market in San Jose

IMG_1592

Tropical mint green tea

IMG_1591

Strawberry, goat cheese, and pistachio salad with walnut thyme vinaigrette

IMG_1587

Strawberry, goat cheese, and pistachio salad with walnut thyme vinaigrette

IMG_1562

Farmer’s fava beans

IMG_1577

Succulent strawberries and local walnuts

IMG_1574

Vine ripe tomatoes with basil and chevre

IMG_1572

Eating whole tomatoes with basil and chevre

IMG_1567

Fragrant basil bunch

Farm stand wildflower honey and strawberries

Farm stand wildflower honey and strawberries

Mint from my windowsill

Mint from my windowsill

Radishes from SMIP farm

Radishes from SMIP farm

Free range happy cows

Free range happy cows

Farmers market on Skyline

Farmers market on Skyline

Local Vendors

Local Vendors

My window garden

My window garden

New growth from my windowsill garden!

New growth from my windowsill garden!

1 Comment

Filed under Local, On Food, Seasonal

One response to “Sticking to the Season: Farmer’s Market Madness!

  1. Pingback: Country-style Ratatoullie alla Genovese | Our Sister Kitchens

Leave a Reply

