New Year, New Ideas

ChicagoHi Karla,

Happy 2013! We’re only… three months late.

This year has been crazy, with all sorts of new stuff, not the least of which is our new blog design, which is pretty cool, if I may say so myself!

I’ve been doing a lot of cooking, but most of it has been rather rushed. I cook when I come home from work in order to wind down, chill out, and prepare myself to get back to work. I’ve taken on a number of freelance projects, which are more exhausting than I had imagined they would be, and they took up a lot of my free time.

Now I’m looking forward to the weather warming up and spring hitting us hard with some warm weather… sunny days… porch beers…

But then I remember, I live in Chicago.

So, despite the fact that it might be sunny and beautiful outside, it’s still about 30 degrees, and t-shirt and sandal weather are still an elusive dream.

Biscuits

This, of course, makes me turn to my favorite food blogs for some rich, hot food-spiration. I’ve been making buttermilk biscuits, the recipe for which you should totally check out on Smitten Kicthen: My Favorite Buttermilk Biscuits, and Shakshuka, as well as some serious breads from The Breadmaker’s Apprentice.

But in my quest for more posts to ogle, I found some great new blogs! Check these out. I’ve added them to our sources and inspiration page!

Spoon Fork Bacon: This blog is awesome. Not only do they have some fantastic food photos and tantalizing treats, but they post all the time which is great, since every time you go back, there is something new!

My Little Expat Kitchen: Magda is a Greek chica living in the Netherlands. She has some awesome Mediterranean recipes (your favorite!) and tales of life in Greece and life away from Greece. I love her breads and cakes. They look fabulous!

Thug Kitchen: I hope you already clicked on that link and already figured out what a hilarious awesome thing Thug Kitchen is. Any time you want a good laugh, go check it out. My favorite is his post about Strawberries. Also, the recipes he talks about are actually really good! Check out that Agua Fresca. Pretty awesome. This guy rocks.

Keep warm!

Lauren

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs & Books

Leave a Reply

