Arroz con Pollo

I came home from work yesterday and before Bill and Andy and I went out for a run in Palmer square (an exactly .5 mile outdoor loop in our neighborhood park) I threw together some Arroz con Pollo.

This is one of those dishes that I make without thinking about it at all. It’s really an adaptation of my friend Simon’s arroz con pollo, but he would probably hate it, since I’ve changed it a bunch since we used to make it together.

Karla, all of your meals look nicely plated and arranged at home, which is awesome, but I usually don’t have the luxury, and I’m almost never cooking during the daytime. This is an easy meal that I instantly pack up into my little watertight, single-serving tupperware and stick in the fridge for my work lunches.

Arroz con Pollo

* 1 tbs olive oil
* 2 half boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into cubes
[* 1 spicy sausage (Spanish Chorizo is best)]
* 1 cup rice (maybe a little more)
* 1.5 cups water (or chicken broth)
* 1 chicken or tomato bouillon cube (omit if using chicken broth)
* 1 packet Goya azafran spice
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 2 jalapenos, seeded, minced (add a seeds if you want some real heat)
* 1 small yellow onion, minced
* 2 small roma or 1 large tomato, finely chopped
* salt
* pepper
* 1 pinch red pepper, maybe some oregano or other spices
* cilantro to garnish (I often don’t use it. Not my favorite)
* 1 can (la preferida) black beans


Rub chicken with half Goya packet, some salt and pepper. Heat oil in pan until hot, not steaming. Add onion, jalapeños and garlic (you can also add green or red bell peppers, or any other pepper you find at the store.) Cook 1-2 minutes on med-high, until slightly translucent. Add chicken and chorizo and brown. Add rice and saute until translucent around the edges (about 1 minute.) Add boullion cube, both peppers, tomato and rice. When it comes to a boil so Boullion cube is completely dissolved. Cover. Let cook about 20 minutes, or until rice is cooked and water absorbed.

As it cooks, drain the liquid from the black beans and put them in a small saucepan. Heat over low until fully heated. Add some cilantro, if desired.

Of course, this time that I made it, I just put the beans in with the rice and packaged it up. This is totally my go-to comfort food, since it’s filling and hot. I like it really spicy.

Also, update on my sweater: I’ve done the body and one sleeve, so I just have to knit the second sleeve and knit them together, and then get working on the hood. Getting there! I promise to take pictures soon.

Lunch all week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meats

Leave a Reply

