Veggie Lasagna

Hey Karla,

So pardon my absence, but I got food poisoning (LOVELY.) Thankfully, not from anything I made myself. One of my coworkers got sick too, so we’ve pinned down the source pretty accurately. Anyways, I don’t need to go into detail about it. It sucked.

It’s also the reason why this lovely lasagna is now chillin’ in my freezer. I haven’t been eating much other than chicken soup and avocados.

So, this lasagna comes from Green Kitchen Stories (big surprise), and the recipe is really long, so I’ll just sum it up here:

Veggie Lasagna á la Green Kitchen Stories
(link here!)

Layer 1: Tomato sauce (1 med onion (chopped), 3 cloves garlic, 1 chili pepper, 2 tbs capers, 25 olives (kalamata? I used a cheaper variety), 4 quartered tomatoes, 2 cans tomatoes, basil, S&P)

Layer 2: Noodles (cook according to package instructions)

Layer 3: Lemon Ricotta (Ricotta cheese, lemon zest, lemon juice, basil, lemon pepper)

Layer 4: Roasted zucchini and eggplant, sauteed mushrooms and kale

Repeat!

Here are some of my step-by-step photos:

Then top this with Mozzarella so it looks like this:

All-in-all, it’s a good recipe. As you can see, my tomato sauce was pretty runny, which was unfortunate, because it meant that the whole thing didn’t hold together so well. If I made this again (which I probably won’t because Bill wasn’t a huge fan… I’ll explain in a sec) I would add a layer or two of mozzarella in the middle, and also use crushed tomatoes instead of canned whole tomatoes. I would also give the tomato sauce a longer simmering time so that it could thicken up more.

I liked this, but don’t expect it to taste like your normal lasagna. The capers and olives come through pretty strong and they definitely give it a different feel. Because all the cheese on the inside is ricotta, nothing really sticks together very well, and it is more of a combination of different ingredients than a complete whole.

This lasagna also totally sold me on something Deb from Smitten Kitchen said a few weeks ago, that really we all need to come to terms with the fact that cooked ricotta cheese really isn’t that great. It’s kind of mealy, and definitely pales to real cheese, etc. In fact, next time I make lasagna, I might just follow her latest recipe, which she swears is the real deal: Lasagna Bolognese. It’s definitely something I know Bill will like. I don’t know that I’ll be making my own pasta (I don’t have a pasta maker after all) but the rest of it sounds pretty awesome. Maybe I could still get a few thin slices of eggplant in there anyways.

But for now, this Lasagna is happily hanging out in my freezer so I can eat it in small chunks whenever I feel like it.

On other topics, my sweater is going really well! Up to ~11inches on the body at the moment. I forgot to take a picture of it this morning, and I forgot my phone at home today, but I’ll try to post a picture of it soon.

L

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

