Eggplant Spread

Hi Karla!

I’m not sure how much you want to address this to each other, or what! I’lljust write this first one semi-impersonally. We’ll see how this goes. I decided to write about my eggplant spread earlier today because it was AWESOME and so easy.

Today I totally eggplanted-out.

When I went to Sunshine (our uber-cheap, uber-awesome latin grocerystore) I went in with no idea of what to make. After all, you can’t always trust Sunshine to have what you want when you get there with a recipe in hand, so I figured I’d improvise. Bill is away for the weekend, so I’m just cooking for me.

When I got to the produce section, I saw something unexpected: eggplant. Now, you don’t usually come across eggplant in latin food, and therefore Sunshine doesn’t usually have eggplant. I knew I had to take advantage of it!

So for lunch I made this absolutely lovely eggplant spread, and for dinner I made this eggplant and olive pizza. The pizza is awesome, but the spread totally blew me away, and it was so easy, I swear I’ll make it a lot more often from now on. It goes great with a lunch of garlic hummos and toasted pita bread!

Eggplant Spread
or “Eggplant Salad Toasts” from SmittenKitchen

1 medium eggplant cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 tbs olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
Black Pepper
1 tsp red wine vinegar
1/4 cup crumbled feta
1 slice of a large onion, or 1/4 of a small yellow onion, minced

Mix eggplant, olive oil, salt and a generous amount of pepper in a bowl until the eggplant is well coated. Roast on an oiled baking sheet in the oven at 425 for ~20 min. You’ll know when it’s done. Turn them once so they brown evenly. Then, while the eggplant is still hot, transfer it to a bowl and mix in the red wine vinegar, feta and onion. You can also use a shallot, which sounds great, but I just had normal onion. 

You’re done! Just put it on some crispy french bread or pita, or even chips! It was soooooo good. The black pepper really makes it pop. I ended up eating all of the eggplant spread, and not even touching my garlic hummos, which I usually looove.

Lauren

Leave a comment

Filed under Sides

Leave a Reply

